Sentencing Task Force

The Sentencing Task Force was created pursuant to Senate Bill 2009-286 to look at sentencing in Colorado. The Governor and Attorney General submitted this letterpdf icon to the Commission regarding specific areas of focus for sentencing reform.

This Task Force met from August 2009 to April 2010. Following this series of meetings, it was determined that the scope of work required re-tooling. A new task force, labeled the Comprehensive Sentencing Task Force, was created to follow up on the initial Sentencing Task Force efforts and to re-evaluate and set priorities.

Subsequently, the Commission returned to the topic of sentencing, seating the Sentencing Reform Task Force in September of 2020. 

No Further Meetings

The Sentencing Task Force met between August 2009 and April 2010. It was replaced by the Comprehensive Sentencing Task Force (2010-2014).

Task Force Members
Members between August 2008 to April 2009

To ensure balanced representation on the Comprehensive Sentencing Task Force, the CCJJ Chair and Vice-Chair employed a template to guide the appointment process. Representative agencies and stakeholders were determined first, followed by the appointment of volunteers to the available positions.

Position Name, Affiliation
Chair Peter Weir, Executive Dir., Dept. of Public Safety (CCJJ member)
Vice Chair Tom Quinn, Director, Probation Services (CCJJ)
Attorney General's Office Tom Raynes (for John Suthers, CCJJ)
District Judge Gil Martinez, District Court Judge, 4th Judicial District (CCJJ)
State Public Defender's Office Doug Wilson, State Public Defender (CCJJ)
District Attorney Peter Hautzinger, DA, 21st Judicial District (CCJJ)
Victim Advocate Steve Siegel, DA Office, 2nd Judicial District (CCJJ)
State Representative Claire Levy, House District 13 (CCJJ)
At-Large Regis Groff, Former State Senator (CCJJ)
CCJJ, ex officio Jeanne Smith Division of Criminal Justice (DCJ)
State Representative Beth McCann, House District 8
State Representative Ellen Roberts, House District 59
District Attorney Mitch Morrissey, DA, 2nd Judicial District
District Attorney Stanley Garnett, DA,20th Judicial District
District Attorney Scott Storey, DA,1st Judicial District
Defense Attorney Lee Foreman
Community Corrections Carl Blesch, Manager, Office of Community Corrections, DCJ
Judicial Branch Ken Plotz, Senior District judge
Victim Advocate Joe Cannata, Voices of Victims
At-Large Charles Garcia, Denver Crime Prevention and Control Commission
Department of Corrections Susan White, Manager, Community Parole
Offender Advocate Dianne Tramutola-Lawson, Colorado CURE
Department of Public Safety Kathy Sasak, Deputy Executive Director
Staff: Germaine Miera (germaine.miera@cdps.state.co.us)
The Sentencing Task Force formed no subgroups.

The Sentencing Task Force posted no materials.
Minutes of meetings may be found in the "Previous Meetings" section.

Information regarding CCJJ recommendations may be found at CCJJ Recommendations.

Information regarding legislation derived from CCJJ recommendations may be found at CCJJ Legislation.

Previous Meetings
Date Time Location Minutes
July 22, 2009 Canceled
August 12, 2009 1-5PM Jefferson County
Juvenile Assessment Center, Rm. 181

11011 W. 6th Avenue, Lakewood, CO
pdf icon
August 26, 2009 1-5PM NETI-Telluride Room
12345 W. Alameda Pkwy
Lakewood, CO
pdf icon
September 9, 2009 1-5PM 3rd Floor Meeting Room
710 Kipling St., Lakewood, CO
pdf icon
September 23, 2009 1-5PM
3rd Floor Meeting Room
710 Kipling St., Lakewood, CO
pdf icon
September 30, 2009 Canceled
February 3, 2010 1-5PM 3rd Floor Meeting Room
710 Kipling St., Lakewood, CO
pdf icon
April 6, 2010 1-5PM 3rd Floor Meeting Room
710 Kipling St., Lakewood, CO
pdf icon
May 13, 2010 Canceled
June 2, 2010 Canceled